Thebe Excellence Awards 2016

It was a magical night.

Our 150 guests looked stunning, all dressed in black and gold. The theme for the night focused on the number eight as it was our eighth awards ceremony. It’s a powerful number that carries connotations to infinity, longevity, balance, decision making, abundance and power. The theme set the tone not only for the awards ceremony but also for Thebe as a corporation.

Mr Khanyile opened the night with a beautiful welcoming speech and a brief history of how Thebe was started and how we’ve grown to be where we are today. Dr Zweli Mkhize, ANC Treasurer-General followed as the night’s key speaker. He delivered an inspirational speech on how to manage turbulent economic times and make South Africa work, giving much-needed perspective and hope for 2017.

The night’s master of ceremony was comedian Donovan Goliath, and he did a brilliant job of keeping everyone entertained. We also had two slam poets and a graffiti artist as the main entertainment events – it was breath-taking to witness what these artists can do.

The 2016 Thebe Excellence Awards Winners are:

  • KAYA FM – Best Non-controlled Company
  • Timrite – Best Controlled Company
  • Thebe Ya Bophelo – Group Transformation
  • Cape Point – Most Improved Company
  • Stella Maboyi – Rookie
  • Frank Pisane – Individual Excellence
  • Lucky Zondi – People’s Choice
  • Nerusha Singh – Leadership for Non-managers
  • Rose Kharibe – Leadership for Managers
  • Cindy Ngcobo – Hopola Lapeng

Congratulations again to all the winners. Through commitment and dedication, you might find your name on this list next year.

It truly was an amazing night, and everyone left in high spirits. Thank you to all the hands that made this possible, all the nominees and everyone who voted.